Fairy Tales’ Untold Truth


Nothing compares to hysterical shriek! It’s far startling than an annoying alarm clock.

It was 4:30 AM to be exact, on the Saturday dawn (May 1, 2010). One of the staff of the Youth Congress who happened to be my room mate awakened me, shrieking hysterically, “Ma’am Lan, here comes again your frog prince!”

I thought I was dreaming, rather, having a nightmare. Yes, the yucky, slimy frog was back in my room, leaping with joviality towards my bed. I never expected that it would be more than a delightful Sabbath when that incident created a slight commotion in our room.

Upon hearing ate Grace’ teasing voice, I automatically stood up and took my malong (native blanket) and eventually folded the mat with much haste, being scared of the frog that might have messed my bed. To my exasperation, I glanced to her who just laughed, seeing me shocked and surprised.

It was a great surprise indeed! I don’t know if it was the same frog that went in my room on Thursday night at exactly 9:05 PM. The music that declared curfew was almost done. I was about to utter my prayers after reading my devotional book. After I placed my golden Bible decked with paper roses in the cabinet, I was alarmed with one of the delegates’ hysterical shriek. “Ma’am Lan, there’s a frog; hey it’s leaping towards you!”

Before I knew it, the frog already hurdled to my bed, almost touched my head. I stood up and the rest of my gestures were funny especially to curious delegates who came prior to my scream. To appease, I mischievously told the girls who chased the frog away from my bed: “It seems that my frog prince wanted a good night kiss.”

Facade is very deceiving! A frog will always be a frog. *Photo credits to Google

I challenged the bravest to catch the frog since I was still in shock, wondering how in the world, a frog entered the door in the living room or got in through the kitchen door, those are quite far from the extended room where we stayed. Good thing, one of the ladies got the frog without much effort. I was more relaxed when I knew that she brought it outside. It made me wonder more when after that incident, another frog got in after almost two days. Was it a coincidence?

That might be a coincidence as I reflected on the sermon of another guest speaker on Sabbath afternoon. A good friend shared about cunning spiritualism garbed in fascinating fairytale and fictitious love stories that are rampant today. The movies and books that bag most awards and support of viewers were mostly fantasy stories. The creepy creatures such as dwarfs, witches and vampires are now becoming the protagonists and they leaved a great impact in the readers and viewers minds of their goodness and heroic acts.

If the old lie that Satan used to beguile Eve, “You shall not surely die”, which is a concealed lie contradicting the truth God Himself declared, “You shall surely die”; had been effective to deceive a perfect person, how much more crafty it has become nowadays. It’s the same big old lie which Satan uses today to misrepresent God and to deceive many about the true state of the dead, the non-immortality of the soul. For example, Sleeping Beauty seemed to be dead until her prince kissed her and break the spell. Another famous fairy tale is that of Snow White, who happened to be dead after eating the poisoned apple of her witch step mother, then she rose to life when her prince came.

“The doctrine of man’s consciousness in death, especially the belief that spirits of the dead return to minister to the living, has prepared the way for modern spiritualism. If the dead are admitted to the presence of God and holy angels, and privileged with knowledge far exceeding what they before possessed, why should they not return to the earth to enlighten and instruct the living?” The Great Controversy p.551

But aren’t we aware of it? Yes, some of us may be, but how about the young people, the little children who are too helpless with the assault of Satan’s missile of errors, unknowingly cheered upon in the television. The great controversy between good and evil is more intense today for the devil knows that his hour is soon to end.

“It is Satan’s constant effort to misrepresent the character of God, the nature of sin, and the real issues at stake in the great controversy. His sophistry lessens the obligation of the divine law and gives men license to sin.” The Great Controversy p.551

It created me more goosebumps, reminiscing my twice encounter with the frog. Two frogs came on different times, but the same thing happened that it leaped towards my head. I was frantic remembering that in the book of Revelation, the three frogs signifying evil spirits. Revelation !6:13: “And I saw three unclean spirits like frogs come out of the mouth of the dragon, and out of the mouth of the beast, and out of the mouth of the false prophet.” Most of the times, the devil is greatly at work to ruin lives through emotion.

Here are some  funny quotes about love:

Fairy tales have fake happy endings so little kids won’t be scared to grow up and fall in love..” – Anonymous

“I would rather be single until my prince comes along than date a million frogs before my prince comes.” – Anonymous

I might not be unaware of the influence I emanated through that joke about my frog prince. But this time, I am trembling before God. I am grateful that He reminded me of not to trifle with the truth. I too am thankful for the numerous reminders of my mother when I was still a child and when I was in my teen-age years having great struggles in reading fairy tale and fictitious novels that caused me to daydream a lot, made me look forward to meeting my own prince. But praise God for His Prince, Jesus whom He sent to save me from sin and the spell of Satan’s lies. “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”  John 8:32

Nothing compares to hysterical shriek! It’s far startling than an annoying alarm clock.

But there’s nothing more awakening than the truth that’s in Jesus!

posing like a frog during a spelunking at Ugong Rock Cave in Subterranean National Park, Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, December 2002 * my loving brother, Ivan Franz Oliver ready to give a hand ^_^

~LAF 2010 (a modified Note in the author’s Facebook account)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Animals, Life story, Love, Nature, Object Lessons, Travel & Adventure, Vicissitudes

Leave a Reply

