NaBloPoMo (Day 3): Multitasking


I’m not a professional singer/musician, but I love to sing! What I’m more grateful for, the Greatest Musician endowed the love for music. I’m often surprise that though I’m forgetful, I have a vivid memory for lyrics and verses. I can easily memorize lyrics and yes, I can sing abruptly (ambush rendition, as I fondly call it — ambush ministry, though ambush term sounds a lil’ negative). But I prefer being invited to sing days or weeks ahead because for me, singing is like delivering a sermon, thorough heart preparation is needed as well as practice.

If you’ve read my introduction about myself, I wrote, I’m a singer by persuasion. It doesn’t mean, I sing because I am just compelled and have no reason to say no. Don’t get me wrong, it’s about DEEP PERSUASION — the love to sing for my Creator! I simply can’t say no to HIM! So when I was asked even just hours before I sing in weddings, in Philippine International Church, in AUP dormitory, to name a few, I would simply pray and have a quick practice with a pianist, guitarist or violinist friend.

Here is a stolen shot taken last February 14, 2010, during the AUP Student Missionary Retreat. We were having light moments after we hiked Taal Volcano. Whenever I see this photo, I am reminded that I’m a unique composition by the Heavenly Musician.  Yet. JESUS is my music, Jesus is my song! The Great Composer will always be the Conductor of the orchestra of my whole being. ♥

"I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations." Psalms 89:11

Today’s NaBloPoMo prompt surprised me:

Can you listen to music and write? What song did you hear today?

Aside from singing, I also love listening to music. I actually love multitasking! Ladies are known to be more efficient in multitasking than the guys. I often listen to music while reading and writing. I prefer listening to classical, instrumental and gospel music. It soothes my mind and relax my body. It actually sets the mood to write most of the times. But it depends on the kind of music I’m listening! For example, this morning, I was awakened with one of my favorite song — TO BE LIKE JESUS! For me, it’s a prayer song and I always long to know Jesus in a deeper personal level and  behold the beauty of His holiness. I was inspired more to write about His love 🙂

Here is one of the videos of the song I listened/viewed today. No matter how many times it is played, it seems always new! This song is special because it reminds me of God’s promises found in 2 Corinthians 3:18 : “But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the LORD.” 

One of my favorite SDA Christian authors, Ellen G. White, wrote, “By beholding we are to become changed; and as we meditate upon the perfections of the divine Model, we shall desire to become wholly transformed, and renewed in the image of His purity. It is by faith in the Son of God that transformation takes place in the character, and the child of wrath becomes the child of God…” –1SM 335-338 (Signs of the Times, December 26, 1892).

“Looking unto Jesus we obtain brighter and more distinct views of God, and by beholding we become changed. Goodness, love for our fellow men, becomes our natural instinct. We develop a character which is the counterpart of the divine character. Growing into His likeness, we enlarge our capacity for knowing God. More and more we enter into fellowship with the heavenly world, and we have continually increasing power to receive the riches of the knowledge and wisdom of eternity.” –COL 355.

Here’s another version of To Be Like Jesus sang by a friend, Michael Kindom. This is one of his songs from his CD album, Look & Live .

Look and Live

May you view/listen to the song with a contemplative heart and be inspired to look to Jesus and be changed by His love and grace 🙂

Why not try to write while listening to music?

Note: Photo courtesy of  Ivan Solis and Michael Kindom. This blog has a copyright . These pictures should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

© LAF 2011

3 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo Nov 2011, Vicissitudes

3 responses to “NaBloPoMo (Day 3): Multitasking

  1. I love the songs and the way kuya Mike’s sing it. I wish i can have that cd 🙂
    Ate Lan i miss our jamming with guitar! 🙂

    • Hi Mimz! I also miss our jamming times, missing your accompaniment a lot! SOON we’ll bond again! Mike is indeed a gifted musician ad evangelist! I concur to that! We’ll have our own CD on God’s own time. Kuya Aries would be our producer! We’ll compose songs together. 🙂 If we’re not busy we could have done our project long ago! hehe God willing sis!

  2. I also love the song “I want to go to Heaven” by Annie Buell, “Father’s Love” by Garry V., and “Daughter of The King” … I have been listening to those songs every day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

