Champion for Children


I was almost drained and famished when I arrived home last night, late as usual. But I was revived when my brother handed me a white envelope.

mail from UNICEF Philippines and some bookmarks and pamphlet

That reminded me of an encounter with Joyce Puntero. It was five weeks ago, to be exact, when I was interrupted by her during rush hour in a supermarket. With a sweet smile, she asked me to join a signature campaign for UNICEF’s Champions for Children. Due to haste (I went to South Supermarket to buy something during break time at work), I signed right away. But when she started talking, I considered listening. Three minutes, she promised, but I seemed to be mesmerized. I lingered.

On July 23, the day I met the Unicef’s fundraiser, I joined the campaign by pledging as a donor. I became an official Champion for Children, not because I am an avid fan of Gary Valenciano, UNICEF National Ambassador, neither persuaded by Joyce. I even wanted to stop her when I panicked, I would almost be late for another class during our encounter. While she was explaining, I was impressed to support the program because I was reminded of the GREAT CHAMPION for CHILDREN and LOVER of CHILDREN, JESUS. He’s also the Great Healer, the Great Teacher and the Great Provider.

Though I used to be on a tight budget and sometimes lacking, I didn’t hesitate to join because I know, that’s a small amount yet I can support 6 children each month to have better health and education. I did this in memory of my younger brother Ben Jathniel, who passed away at the age of 12 last year due to unexpected illness, Typhoid Encephalitis. For me, I was more inspired to help kids to obtain proper health support and to have better tomorrow.

“But Jesus said, Suffer the little children, and forbid them not, to come unto me: for to such belongeth the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 19:14

I’m not used to letting my left hand know what my right hand did, but I’m encouraged to share this joy of sharing. Jesus is my best inspiration for through Him, I am reminded that the Kingdom of Heaven is for those of child-like faith and child-like humility.

Champions for Children is a community of individuals whose regular contributions enable a growing number of Filipino children to enjoy the right to education, healthcare and nutrition as well as protection from neglect, abuse and exploitation.”~UNICEF

You too can join this campaign and be a Champion for Children. Kindly visit this link for further details:

http://www.unicef.org/philippines/supportunicef.html#.UD8xgJNk0gQ

overjoyed to be with these special children who reminded me of Jesus’ ♥

 

*Photo credits to Wylee Villegas, taken during the PYC “Empowered” Outreach on Dec. 22, 2010 at Pulong Sta Cruz, Sta. Rosa, Laguna

Love does not seek it’s own (1 Cor 13:4)
“We teach this principle to children, but as adults, it’s easy to breeze right by this simple exhortation. How easily we become caught up in our own interests, our own expectations, and our own agendas! I have been laboring to teach my little ones that God’s love puts others first. God’s love is not caught up in self. God’s love is selfless – constantly seeking to take the lowest place, rather than demanding his own way.” -Leslie Ludy

*Photo credits to Jarelene N., taken on May 1, 2010 @ Laguna during the culmination of the Youth Congress “Reach Out and Save” (I was one of the speakers)

© LAF 2012

Note: Photo credits to google *Jesus’ photo. This blog has a copyright . The contents should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author

2 Comments

Filed under Life story, Love, Ministry

2 responses to “Champion for Children

Leave a Reply

