For the L♥ve of Charky


Have you experienced being so emotionally drained and you don’t want to share your burdens to any one with the fear that you might be misunderstood? You’re so exhausted thinking what to do, until you realized you have an ever enthusiastic companion who might not fully understand, but who would always be there to listen.

I’ve been known by many people being a very friendly and extrovert person. I’ve been blessed with lots of friends. But there came a point in my life when I got so emotionally drained and almost spiritually exhausted, that I wanted to be detached from friends and family. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t about being anti-social nor feeling unloved. I just felt like I was so feed up with life’s burdens and I wanted to come away, to embrace solitude. Then I appreciated more the friendship of a puppy.

Charcoal, known as Charky-doo or Charky, is a mixed breed of Labrador Retriever and ‘Askal’ (stray dog).He was given by Beryl Jane to my younger sister as a gift. They’re three cute and cuddly siblings named, Hero, Cooper and Charky with different colors. The first time I set my eyes on Charky, I really liked him. Oh such an adorable black creature!

Charky was my ever sweet companion during the dawn of our family’s most-trying crucible; before and during the simultaneous hospitalization of my two siblings, ate Leah and Ben Jathniel (deceased) on the first quarter of year 2011.  Of course I greatly appreciate my family, relatives and friends who were there, praying and encouraging. But it was just so special to have a pet that would listen and listen, though I know he wouldn’t respond and wouldn’t be affected, compared when I unload my burdens to human beings. I realized, there are times, when you don’t really need answers, you only need a listening ear. I found comfort having Charky almost every morning during my wee-hour brisk walking and quiet times with God amid nature. Sometimes, we chased each other in the green lawn  or in the soccer field, inside AUP campus. Those were the care-free moments which made me felt lighter and invigorated. Sadly, he was no longer with us  on the latter part of March 2011 because we need to give him to a friend for adoption since we can’t take care of him anymore.

It amazed me how wonderful God is! Truly, no one understands like Jesus. But He provided a creature who would seem to understand. Our cuddly pet thought me how to truly listen and communicate. We taught him obedience through some simple command: “Charky sit!” and he learned to follow! Whenever he sits, and we say”PAW”, he’ll give his paw as if he’s giving a “hand shake”. He even did it many times though he’s severely ill when he was stricken with Parvo virus. He made me realize that I simply need to listen to God’s voice.

The last update I had from Shiella, my friend who adopted him, Charky was so grown-up and he was already able to mate. How I wish we could have another puppy again. Maybe, one of his own puppies 🙂 Sometimes, when I get so down, I wish I could have Charky. However, things have changed since then. He’s changed a lot and maybe he won’t recognize me anymore. I have learned more to lean on God and I’ve noticed, I’m no longer easily succumbed to stress lately. His memory is enough to make me smile. I wrote this blog entry for the love of Charky.

Another reason I wrote this is to take part in the World Animal Day. Here ‘s the link and excerpt from the website I stumbled upon days ago: http://www.worldanimalday.co.uk/about-2/

“World Animal Day was started in 1931 at a convention of ecologists in Florence as a way of highlighting the plight of endangered species. October 4 was chosen as World Animal Day as it is the Feast Day of St Francis of Assisi, the patron saint of animals.

Since then, World Animal Day has become a day for remembering and paying tribute to all animals and the people who love and respect them. It’s celebrated in different ways in every country, with no regard to nationality, religion, faith or political ideology.”

Mission Statement

  • To celebrate animal life in all its forms
  • To celebrate humankind’s relationship with the animal kingdom
  • To acknowledge the diverse roles that animals play in our lives – from being our companions, supporting and helping us, to bringing a sense of wonder into our lives
  • To acknowledge and be thankful for the way in which animals enrich our lives

You might experience being so emotionally drain and you don’t want to share your burdens to any one with the fear that you might be misunderstood. You might be so exhausted thinking what to do. Maybe it’s about time to spend special moments with your pet if you have, or look for one if you don’t have yet. After all, a dog is a man’s best friend.

© LAF 2012

6 Comments

Filed under Animals, Exciting Event, Object Lessons

6 responses to “For the L♥ve of Charky

  1. This completely blamed my soul and I want you to know that it is a delight to see you on the blog. I have not checked to see if you have been off the radar for a bit but I believe God sends us comfort and messages right on time. This message blessed my heart.

    God is able to complete His work in us and through us. At times we will be called to a place of rest in Him just to see things work out in His timing. There’s always a lesson to learn. We never know how it will be packaged!

    Many blessings to you!

    Terra

    • Much gratitude to your appreciation and for the time spent reading my post 🙂 Great to hear from you Terra!
      It made me smile knowing that you were blessed. Every day beckons a package of surprises and challenges. Whatever the day brings, we’ll surely receive blessings…blessings that are sometimes disguised in trials and tribulations. But sure enough, reminders of God’s great mercy and grace 🙂
      Have a great day!

  2. Dogs have a nose of perception, and that they can smell intentions and emotions. It relates more to when it barks at a stranger. But I guess, this is more also on why they said “Dogs are a man’s bestfriend.”

    • CurlyLAF

      Dogs are amazing! Someone said, dogs are like angels without wings hehe 😀 I couldn’t agree more! thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | Curly Bookworm

  4. Pingback: Cuddly Cutie Creature Called Charx | Curly Bookworm

Leave a Reply

