Weddingful Week


“REALLY?…”

Her chinky eyes were still small although her eye balls seemed to pop out.

“…then you should be married within six months, or else, you won’t get married until the next three years!”, she muttered in a teasing, yet threatening voice with a Konglish accent.

“REALLY?…”

My quick response to what I’ve heard. It wasn’t because I can’t believe what she said; it was a typical auto-reply emphasizing surprise.

Beads of sweat dripped down my spine. Goosebumps all over, not because I was afraid or shocked; it seemed that the scorching spell of the sun heated up the room. The temperature rose.

We both laughed.

I laughed because it was my first time to hear the Korean wedding tradition:  the lady who got the bouquet should be married within six months. She must keep the bouquet and burn it before getting married. If she won’t get married within six months, she can’t marry until the next three years, or worse, never.

We both laughed.

She laughed because I told her the reason why I don’t have a boyfriend yet. I might be exempted because in the first place, I don’t have a boyfriend to marry within six months. She laughed when she learned it wasn’t my first time to have the bride’s bouquet. She laughed, not to scorn me; she was quite entertained with the thought, I’ve been through a lot of weddings and yet I might end up being single for life.

“HAJIMA!” I thought to myself concerning spinsterhood.  I wanna laugh harder.

It was fun sharing my wedding experiences to my college Korean student, the day after the wedding where I’ve got the bouquet; a reasonable excuse to be absent in our class.

Next in line?

Next in line? I’m not superstitious

Of Bouquets and Brooms

Korean wedding tradition is quite similar to the Filipino wedding tradition, especially in terms of the tossing of bride’s bouquet (or other counterpart bouquet activity). But with Filipinos’, there’s no time frame. The moment you got the bride’s bouquet, you’re either the teasing stock, or seemingly placed in a pressure cooker — “you’re definitely next in line!”

I’ve been through a lot of weddings. I have performed all the parts since I got involved in friend’s wedding. I’ve been a wedding co-planner, coordinator, an emcee, singer, usherette, bride’s maid, and maid of honor. To reminisce each wedding and the story behind it is simply nostalgic. But there’s still the cherry-on-top role that I haven’t experienced. Obviously, I need not mention it. Haha!

“Teacher Lanie, you should stop accepting wedding parts, or else, you will never get married…” a former colleague teasingly told me a year ago.

“Ah, another superstition”, I responded.  I believe, I’ll have my own on God’s time (fingers crossed). “…But it’s my passion, I’m happy in sharing the honor and joy of taking part in friend’s weddings”, I continued.

March 25 & March 31, 2013 were the busiest and the most hilariously stress-less, meaningful and surprising days I had so far. Within the last week of March were the anticipated weddings of friends and family friends. So, I called it weddingful week.

my favorite parts are the bridal entry and when the groom takes his bride :D (endorsement of parents) lucky me, seated near the spot, trying to immortalize the moment through taking photos.

my favorite parts are the bridal entry and when the groom takes his bride 😀 (endorsement of parents)
*Object lesson on Jesus’ second coming as a Bridegroom to meet His Bride, the church.

bride's friends and PS Bank & HP colleagues' wacky shot with poise haha

bride’s friends and PS Bank & HP colleagues’ wacky shot with poise

obviously oblivious

obviously oblivious

Each single lady, should pull a ribbon attached to the bouquet, but only one is tied to it. The bouquet goes to the lady who gets it.

Each single lady should pull a ribbon, almost all are attached to the bouquet (representing the bride’s bouquet), except the one tied to it. The bouquet goes to the lady who gets the exceptional ribbon.

can't believe it! why me??? slight commotion :D

can’t believe it! why me???
slight commotion 😀

me?!...yes, you!

me?!…yes, you!

"There's a reat probability!" ~Mathematician/Physicist BRIDE  overjoyed!  fun fun funny!

“There’s a great probability that you’re the next!” ~Mathematician/Physicist BRIDE
overjoyed!
fun fun funny!

grateful :D

Aizza & I are ever grateful 😀

getting quite awkward hearing "higher, higher until the garter can't be seen

getting quite awkward hearing “higher, higher until the garter can’t be seen”

that awkward moment, my emcee partner, Tito Sherwin Fronda Fiedacan mandated us to mimic the newly wed; the modified one, "beso-beso" for the heiress of bouquet and heir of garter... THOU SHALL NOT REACT! haha!

that awkward moment, my emcee partner, Tito Sherwin F. Fiedacan mandated us to mimic the newly wed; the modified one, “beso-beso” for the heiress of bouquet and heir of garter…
THOU SHALL NOT REACT!

Who would have thought that after 5 years, another friend would get married with some similar features as what happened in the past: the date chosen was the day after the university graduation; the groom happened to be an instructor of the bride in a certain class during college; and the lady who got the bride's bouquet is the same participant! Providential or mere coincidental?!  @_@ If I believed the superstition about receiving a bouquet, I might not have been single since then. haha!  Usherette* Balitar-Elisan Nuptials (March 31, 2008) Emcee/singer* Catimbang-Firmante Nuptials (March 25, 2013)

Who would have thought that after 5 years, another friend would get married with some similar features as what happened in the past: the date chosen was the day after the university graduation; the groom happened to be an instructor of the bride in a certain class during college; and the lady who got the bride’s bouquet is the same participant!
Providential or mere coincidental?!
@_@
If I believed the superstition about receiving a bouquet, I might not have been single since then. haha!
Usherette* Balitar-Elisan Nuptials (3.31.’08)
Emcee/singer* Catimbang-Firmante Nuptials (3.25.’13) One more thing: the latter was the best man of the first groom.

On April 12, 2011, my childhood best friend, Jelome Selda-Manalu married a wonderful Indonesian guy, Apselu. It was one of my happiest days. This blog entry is also a token of appreciation for God’s blessings in her love life. Jubilant 2nd anniversary! More sweeter years 😀

I was supposed to catch her bouquet, but it’s not for me haha!

busy

everybody’s busy

bliss

bliss

recessional

recessional* the couple with Dr. Reuel Almocera, officiating minister

bride's close friends

bride’s close friends

seems we're avoiding the bouquet

seems we’re avoiding the bouquet (rendezvous: Sonya’s Garden)

I just looked at it and didn't catch it

I just looked at it and didn’t catch it.

good catcher!

TAKE TWO! Apple is a good catcher!

TAKE TWO! Apple Apostol got it!

She got it!

who would have thought? :)

couples  * next in line? Apple & Yong Angeles

Life is indeed full of surprises.  But in spite of vicissitudes of life, a choice to constantly hope and work out the faith;to love and be loved, will remain constant. It’s part of everyday nurturing especially in the garden of marriage life. 

On April 25, 2010, I attended two weddings. My childhood friend, Eleonor Econar, married Joel Imperio earlier before another wedding. The same pastor officiated, Pastor Joe Orbe Jr. The venue was at Finster Hall of Nations, 1:00-3:00 PM. Never mind the change of attire and don’t imagine the ‘tarantaciousness’ (in-a-hurry preparation) haha! (Yellow dress to black dress).

taking every wedding part seriously

taking every wedding part seriously

my former professor during college and very nice friend, Dr. Gracel Salangsang-Saban and hubby

my former college professor and very nice friend, Dr. Gracel Salangsang & hubby, Mark Saban (April 25, 2010. 3-5 PM,PIC)

I ate the most, I was beguiled! LOL another bouquet activity during Te Gracey & Kuya Marky Saban's wedding

I ate grapes the most during the activity for the bouquet, to avoid the bouquet. Surprisingly, I just realized today that my partner in that activity who told me to eat more is a fellow blogger, Regin Reyno (in mint green), the bride’s cousin. He thought we never met before. I’m totally unaware! Thought I met him online only.

“No matter what, no matter who, no matter when, any man has a chance to sweep any woman off her feet. He just needs the right broom.” ~Hitch

bitter

no time for hitch hiking for love

This is an excerpt from an article that I read from an FB post, ARE YOU THE RIGHT PARTNER?

“The key to succeeding in a relationship is not finding the right person; it is learning to love the person you found.”

“Sustaining love is not a passive or spontaneous experience. You have to work on it day in and day out. It takes time, effort, and energy. And most importantly, it demands WISDOM. You have to know WHAT TO DO to make it work. Make no mistake about it.”

“Love is therefore a “decision”. Not just a feeling.”

“Remember this always: God determines who walks into your life. It is up to you to decide who you let walk away, who you let stay, and who you refuse to let GO.”

A Vow to Bow

Mission First, Mate Second

“REALLY?…”

I had mixed emotions when I got a text message from someone who called over the phone the other day. When he learned that I don’t have a boyfriend yet, he advised me to have one. He made me wonder when he said that he has a prospective one to suggest. It was just funny that coincidentally, I just got the bouquet on a wedding and told him  most of friends teased me to be the next. I met him again after a year on the following wedding on the 31st of March. “What is this LORD?”, I pondered. I know what he shared in our conversation was full of inspiration and wisdom.

“REALLY?!”

This is the reaction that I might have once I get to know who…get to know one day who has the right broom to sweep me off my feet; probably my reaction once I meet the one God has prepared on His  appointed time.

As I wonder, I don’t want to wander. 🙂

* I’ll have PART 2 for this entry, will share about the wedding on March 31, 2013 and more of BROOM stuff.

© 2013 LAF

Note: Photos credit to Jeruel Ibanez and Khennjo Deles. (The photos in purple/lavender motif are raw pictures, candidly taken by Jeruel Ibanez. This blog has a copyright . The photos and article should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Exciting Event, Friendship, Life story, Love, Object Lessons, Vicissitudes

8 responses to “Weddingful Week

  1. Thanks for featuring my photos, Lanie. 🙂 You write with excellence. For more photos, your readers and followers may check this link: http://www.jeruelibanez.com. Thank you and more power!

    • Welcome Sir Jhie! It has always been my pleasure and honor to feature your expertise 😀 I noticed that you’re the photog in most weddings I attended hehe…

      I was supposed to include the link of your website. Thanks for this. More weddings…until on my own 😀

  2. Thanks for inviting me here…nice blog. Thanks for sharing! God bless..

  3. Interesting, especially the Korean wedding tradition 🙂

  4. thanks a lot for the appreciation! 😀 have a great day!

Leave a Reply

