An Unsung Hero


“If you happened to walk down the street and saw a man with long, unruly hair, beard unshaven, reeking with alcohol, a cigarette in hand, messy, and a penetrating dark countenance, how would have been your initial reaction?…”

more than a stranger

known stranger

My jaw dropped.

“Seriously?” I gasped, and I was grateful, he didn’t see my reaction on the other side of the cyberspace. He’s a strange stranger! I was astounded!

I thought I knew him. We’ve never been acquainted personally, but he’s an FB friend for years. I could see his posts and some photos in the news feed. The first chat with him that I could remember was on June 22, 2011. It was just a question-answer type of chat. The sole chat, actually.

I threw one question of how is he related with Kuya JoveMack, he replied “Pastor Jovemack and I are high school buddies in AUP (PUC).” I thanked him, informing that I’m his relative. Period.

My query was sufficed. But he never replied, so I never thought I would ever chat with him again. The only significant factor why I considered befriending him in FB: he’s the best friend of Kuya JoveMack (Joeveney Fronda Macabeo).

Best friends since high school

Best friends for life

But unexpectedly, I need to ask details about the search and rescue operations done on Sunday until Tuesday. Since I found his updates and photos in FB very informative, I sought his consent on August 28, 2013, if I could use them in my blog post. The rest was history.

Going back to his introduction, I regained my composure from enormous surprise. It really boggled my mind. “That was last year?” I dunno if I saw him. I’m not sure if I met him along the street. I just found out yesterday that we’re neighbors in Puting Kahoy. The house we rent is just few steps away from the compound of his family’s property.

I read from the news feed that he has been transformed, and the Desire of Ages is one of the most significant Spirit of Prophecy books which awakened him, revived him anew. But receiving his introduction was so humbling! While I consider him an unsung hero during the search and rescue operations for the tragic loss of the three AUP students, he LIFTED UP CHRIST and UPHELD HIM as HIS HERO, the UNSUNG HERO of MANKIND. And this testimonial is so powerful:

“…Believe it or not, I was that kind of man last year. But I thank God for being the kind of God that He is–for being ever so merciful to His sin-stained child who finally sought Him, and for sending the Holy Spirit to turn my eyes again to our Lord Jesus who is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.”

Sundown worship, Sunrise of friendship

SUNDOWN worship, SUNRISE of genuine friendship
*Taken at the lawn between new COT Bldg. & Finster Hall of Nations (8/31/13)

Strangers No More

As what I understood, he’s lived a life like that of the prodigal son. And I’ve never been so eager like before, to know his “Damascus experience”. What could have compelled him to have a 180-degree turning back to our Heavenly Father?

He continued: “I surely am grateful for Jesus’ statement in John 6:37:
“All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will by no means cast out.” And because He did not cast me out, here I am standing before you today declaring that God is good.”

He’s standing as the leader of the modern Gideon’s 300, the director of FINISH THE WORK MINISTRIES INTERNATIONAL

Pressing on towards the mark of HIGH CALLING

Pressing on towards the mark of HIGH CALLING

https://www.facebook.com/FinishTheWorkMinistries

Tarry not, the time is SHORT!

Tarry not, the time is SHORT!

Quality, not Quantity

Quality, not Quantity

“I am the WORST of sinners, but SAVED by GRACE through FAITH in Christ Jesus.

My life is a product of broken marriage that resulted to multiple suicide attempts. I am a deprived father of two of my beloved sons who are now with their mother living in Bangkok, Thailand. But GOD HAS ANOTHER PLAN for me.”

“Lord, keep us being together when we are falling apart.” ~JMQ

reunited after 11 months of separation

reunited after 11 months of separation

So happy together! Dad & Sons' bonding

So happy together! Dad & Sons’ bonding

“In constant tears, mostly every 3:00 A.M. He wakes me up in tearful prayers as I constantly struggle with Jesus to help me carry on this temporary life, that I may serve Him faithfully, empowered not by might, nor by power but by His Spirit; to FINISH THE WORK is my humble prayer.

God granted my request:  SPIRITUAL ANESTHESIA. I can’t feel the pain anymore. I’ve devoted my time to MINISTRIES. I love to help when duty calls.”

SAVED to SERVE

SAVED to SERVE

Building God's temple figuratively and literally

Building God’s temple figuratively and literally

Following the Blue Print

“My parents are my inspiration, their prayers follow me.”

wingless angels, full of unconditional love

wingless angels, full of unconditional love

I’ve known his dad, Engr. Quiza as the engineer of AUP, and they left a legacy in this campus. But I was amazed of God’s providential workings in their family.

“Our family were Roman Catholic back then, both my parents were devoted believers of the Catholic church. However, God’s providence through Literature Evangelists in the city of Lanao del Norte province penetrated the hearts of my parents and the Holy Spirit worked tremendously in the hearts.

Our family moved by faith to Luzon without any friends or relatives. Old PUC in Baesa in the year 1978 was transitioning to new PUC (now AUP) in Silang, Cavite. We stayed in Brgy. Sto. Domingo/Muzon and a year after we lived near AUP river below the motorpool (very near where the recent river flooding tragedy happened). My father was hired by PUC as a plumber while my mother was a plain housekeeper. God worked in many miraculous ways in our family, promoting my father from regular plumber to draftsman, then to campus engineer.”

humble beginnings

humble beginnings

“Our 1st family vehicle was a small bicycle. Five of us all fit in our 1st family bicycle.”

He, together with his siblings grew up and studied in the old Philippine Union College and now, Adventist University of the Philippines from elementary, til graduate studies, except the physician:

  •  1982-1988  Elementary
  • 1988-1992  Academy
  • 1992-1997 BS Nursing
  • 1997-1999 graduated MBA

He worked for 13 years outside the Philippines (Thailand, Singapore, and USA).  He’s back for another graduate program in MPH @ AUP.  He serves as the Vice-President for the Graduate School Association of AUP Graduate School.

Aside from his numerous endeavors, He’s directly connected with the National Bureau of Investigation since 2002, and  he’s got special affiliations with the Philippine National Police and the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

“I am not a member of the free masonry, but I am a member of an ELITE organization of high-level politicians, businessmen, and military officials called the FRATERNAL ORDER OF EAGLES.”

humility sustained

humility sustained

“We moved from Mindanao to Luzon BY FAITH that God will see us through, and He was FAITHFUL and TRUE to His promises.

By God’s providence and sustenance, our family was able to build a school (College) in Western Mindanao called Adventist Technological Insntitute (ATI), established in 2004.

The objective of the school is streamlined with the philosophy of our Adventist Education, and to help children of less fortunate farmers and peasants to study.”

His Workings are Enablings

He also introduced his siblings:

  • eldest brother – Alvin Lou Quiza (Licensed Physician, 40 y/o, single)
  • youngest sister – Suzanne Glez “Inday” Quiza – Manez (RMT, MPH and MBA)
Complete Health Improvement Program

Complete Health Improvement Program

“Suzanne is the director of Health & Wellness at Adventist Medical Center-Manila, married to Dr. Johann Manez (Lifestyle Medicine), the country director for CHIP-Philippines.”

Dr. CHIP & his wife

Dr. CHIP & His SweetHEART

She’s been his inspiration and mentor, especially in his transformation and his endeavor to FINISH THE WORK.

Siblings' tandem, love and support

Siblings’ tandem, love and support

“Health is by CHOICE, not by CHANCE”

We are returning everything to God what He has abundantly blessed us. Our very life belongs to Him. We own basically nothing!”

AD QUIZA Group Prize-winner of SDA Church nationwide design in 2004. Approved by Southern-Asia Pacific Division (SSD) of the General Conference Acknowledged by SDA Conferences in the Philippines

AD QUIZA Group
Prize-winner of SDA Church nationwide design in 2004.
Approved by Southern-Asia Pacific Division (SSD) of the General Conference (GC)
Acknowledged by SDA Conferences in the Philippines

Temple Project

Temple Project

Church Project #6 Tiaong SDA Church Tiaong, Quezon Province Faith-budget needed to complete: 500k Php (US$ 12k) (posted on August 19, 2013)

Church Project #6
Tiaong SDA Church
Tiaong, Quezon Province
Faith-budget needed to complete: 500k Php (US$ 12k) (posted on August 19, 2013)

“I may have lost everything, but I gained Christ Jesus again after I took Him for granted when I was out there in the world.”

“The triumph of Christian faith is to SUFFER, and be STRONG;
to SUBMIT, and thus CONQUER;
to be KILLED all day long, and yet to LIVE;
to BEAR the CROSS, and thus WIN the CROWN of IMMORTAL GLORY.”
~ EGW, Sketches from the life of Paul p.300

I’m simply blessed spending quality time with Bro. Jad Quiza yesterday afternoon at the sundown worship until we had the sharing last night. I could never have imagined how God drastically transformed him. As I stood in amazement, wondering at His grace this morning, I sent him a text message, that favorite quotation about the life of one of my Champions of Faith.

“How He transformed Saul to Paul is a clear manifestation of the power of His unconditional love. That is the same power that works in our lives today. That same power I see working in your life kuya Jad! :)”

it wasn't just a horrible nightmare

As much as he’s willing to be spent to seek the lifeless bodies of the three AUP students, he’s ever willing to be spent to seek the spiritually dead people whom Christ has died. For Jesus is more than LIFE to him.

We shall all be changed Caught up to heaven In a cloud of glory We shall all be changed Transformed in victory Death where is thy sting God conquered death and hell...

We shall all be changed
Caught up to heaven
In a cloud of glory
We shall all be changed
Transformed in victory
Death where is thy sting
God conquered death and hell…

As much as I am thrilled for that grand reunion in heaven, my special prayers ascend for Kuya Jad and his two sons, that one day, they’ll be reunited again; so with his entire family🙂 Would you like to join me in prayers?

TWO TIMES YOU’RE MINE

*click the titles to read the other stories related

Flushed by a Flash Flood

Scars Wounded Afresh (Flushed by a Flash Flood Part2)

Part 3 will posted later, covering the funeral/internment of Kat Taroquin, and some details of the search and rescue operation.

© 2013 LAF

Note: Photos and video credit to Bro.Jad Quiza. This blog has a copyright . The photos and article should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

3 Comments

Filed under Friendship, Health & Healing, Life story, Love, Ministry

3 responses to “An Unsung Hero

  1. Pingback: Flushed by a Flash Flood | Curly Bookworm

  2. How amazing what grace can do! I’ve just read his story now…thanks for sharing this. He is indeed an unsung hero for Christ^^* Sometimes I envy those who were “called from the darkness into marvelous light” kind of people. They know and appreciate the value of “grace”, which most of us take for granted.
    “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

    • Ditto! And if it wasn’t for God’s providential workings, I might haven’t known Kuya Jad personally. He said, I was an answered prayer too, coz he was praying for someone who could write God’s wonderful workings in His life.

      But He never told me to write about him, I was impressed by the Holy Spirit to do so. He just told me days after about his answered prayers. God really works in mysterious ways. Rom.8:28

      While I considered him an unsung hero during the search and rescue operations for the tragic loss of the three AUP students, he LIFTED UP CHRIST and UPHELD HIM as HIS HERO, the UNSUNG HERO of MANKIND.

Leave a Reply

