How to Halt When You’re in Haste


take time to bloom in the bosom of the Tender Gardener :)

Taking time to bloom in the bosom of my Tender Gardener 🙂

Too Busy to Be Bothered

Time management has been a greater challenge since I’ve got a new job on September 2013. As a full-time writer for Good News Advocates based in Oregon, USA, every second counts. Aside from numerous transitions, the 15-hour time difference of Oregon and Philippines demands my keen focus. So, as I push myself to stick to my daily schedule, I make it a point that I won’t miss the cream of the crop.

I can’t rationalize that I am too busy to be bothered. To miss my morning devotional would mean a great loss, and more likely, a chaotic day.  So, I suggest, don’t rationalize! Halt when you’re in haste.

Whenever I try to rationalize, I am always reminded of Jesus. When he’s here on Earth, he would even spend a night just to pray and talk to His Father. He took much time to devout himself, knowing that with solitude, he could better hear God’s voice. He’s busier than I could ever imagine! One more important thing, he would often go to nature, the open book.

Read your Bible, pray everyday and you’ll grow, grow, glow! 🙂

Take Time to Smell the Flowers

You can take the idiom literally!

I love flowers. As a lass, I spent much time to do gardening. I’ve got a green thumb from my parents who also delight in such hobby. Aside from health benefits, I’ve learned a lot of object lessons from flowers and other plants. One of those precious lessons is the right timing to plant and right nurturing. The thrill to see a budding flower is in itself a reward!

Now that life’s been too cluttered with responsibilities and challenges, I long to have a literal gardening experience again. It subdues my heart and gives an inexpressible joy. But since I don’t have a place to plant, the counterpart is to visit a flower garden in a friend’s yard. Whenever I’m walking and I notice flowers, I would take time to gaze. The least is to browse the web for picturesque flowers.

I can’t resist the beauty of the flowers even they’re aren’t tangible! I wish I could truly smell them and hold them with wonder. So next thing I suggest, don’t murmur! Halt when you’re in haste.

Whenever I try to murmur, I am reminded of Jesus. He created the wonderful nature to remind me of His unconditional and unchanging love. As the thorns prick, and as the roses wither, the promise of blessed hope is magnified. One glorious day, there would be a perfect world. That awesome thought makes me pause and ponder! Thanks to the open book!

Hassle in Hurrying

“Our greatest danger in life is in permitting the urgent things to crowd out the important.” – Charles E. Hummel

    I’ve drawn a lot of lessons from flowers. Specifically, I was struck with its significance to my love life. Two important attributes are waiting and growing.

    Friends and strangers alike often arrest me with this question after the query of my age: “So, when are you going to get married?”

    I would automatically answer, “Wait, you should have asked me if I’ve got a sweetheart or fiancé! (in the first place)”.

    And I would often have a terse soliloquy “Am I that old? some people even think I’m in early 20’s and amusingly, a teenager!…c’mon! I’m not yet qualified for spinsterhood.” I am not really bothered I don’t have special someone yet. Although I often wonder, when is “God’s own time”, “perfect timing” or “appointed time”, that I always accompany in my answer.

    Pressure would always lurk as friends remind me that most of my childhood friends, high school friends, college friends and best friends are married, settled, and sealed for eternity. 🙂 But it would fade away as I think of the choice of a life-time partner, that has something to do with my future. People come, people go; some linger, some fade away.

    Some of my married friends bragged about the joys and wonderful stories of marriage. Others, shared regrets, sorrows and wishes to be out of particular relationship, which alarmed me with the realities slapping my face. While many singles hurry to be in a relationship and get married, many wish to be out of the so-called “burden”, “bondage”, and “misery”.

    Being realistic, being practical and being balanced would help slow the hurrying, and lessen or shun the hassles. I’ve learned my lessons. I’m grateful of how God pruned me and flourished me. That’s my epiphany as I looked back at the circumstances of my past. I’ve seen the greater picture lately. I can only smile and sigh…with gratitude and gaiety!

    Don’t rationalize now, then murmur later.

JOY in Waiting

      Last night, I read and re-blogged On Being Alone: Rethinking The Single Life (click to read the article). I was inspired with the practicality, wit  and wonder of Lucia Lorenzi. She’s a “4th-year PhD candidate in the Department of English at The University of British Columbia”.

     If she’s been bold of sharing her two cents, I am bolder to share mine! I respect her perspective and I appreciate her.  I was supposed to post this entry on October 5, but I’ve seen it’s greater significance why I just finished it today.

     Simple as it is, JOY stands for JESUS first, OTHERS next, YOU the last. With this acronym, waiting wouldn’t be in vain.

  • When you’re in hurry to make crucial decisions,  halt and consider, then reconsider if needed. You need Jesus the most!
  • Relationship is not about what you can get/benefit from someone, but more of what you can give/offer to someone. Think of the other significant person and others involved.
  • When you’ve pondered upon the decision and you’re ready, brace yourself. Take the risk and live the faith. You hold the key!

Here are the verse and quotes/lyrics that I found precious to ponder:

I've always cherished this precious promise since then :)

I’ve always cherished this precious promise five years ago 🙂

I know His timing is perfect, and I know His will is true; And so I'm growing as I wait, as He's preparing me for you.

“I know His timing is perfect, and I know His will is true;
and so I’m growing as I wait, as He’s preparing me for you.” ~Promise Me Forever, Nebblett Family

Every grows, everything has a season; Till it is gathered to the Father's fold.

“Everything grows, everything has a season;
till it is gathered to the Father’s fold.” ~ Look at the World, John Rutter

"For changeless love and endless mercy For countless blessings beyond the wealth of kings For every perfect gift thou sendest, Lord, I praise thee And my grateful spirit sings" ~ My Grateful Spirit Sings, Sally deFord

“For changeless love and endless mercy
For countless blessings beyond the wealth of kings
For every perfect gift thou sendest, Lord, I praise thee
And my grateful spirit sings”. ~ My Grateful Spirit Sings, Sally DeFord

“God always does things right. His way is always the best way, even if it seems all wrong. You can be sure that he will always give what you need at the appropriate time. What you want is not always what you need. God never fails to grant our petitions, so keep on going to Him without doubting or murmuring. Today’s thorn is tomorrow’s flower. God gives the best to those who leave the choices up to Him, for he makes everything beautiful in its time.” ~ Love Out Loud, January 18, 2011

Like the sunflowers which always face the sun, may we always keep looking up to the Sun of Righteousness.  "Spend your life looking to Jesus, seek everlasting reward..." "Arise, SHINE; for your light is come, and the glory of the Lord is risen on you." ~Isa. 60:1 Photo credit: Jefferson Daniel Clark

Like the sunflowers which always face the sun, may we always keep looking up to the Sun of Righteousness.” Spend your life looking to Jesus, seek everlasting reward…”

© 2013 LAF

Note: Photos credit: Jefferson Daniel Clark (sunflower) and the rest, to Google Images. This blog has a copyright . The article should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flowers, Friendship, Life story, Object Lessons, Vicissitudes

Leave a Reply

