Ready, Set, STOP!


I’ve always wanted to be back on track, to be consistent in running; joining fun run and pro run.

What’s with running? You might wonder.

For me, it’s more of the feeling of freedom, a package of endurance, agility and strength’s tests. Actually, it’s more of character building. Behind every successful run is a huge dose of discipline, determination and diligence. That’s pretty rewarding!

Birthday Blast

Having missed joining fun run and pro run last year and the earlier years, I’ve done other outdoor adventures to compensate my frustration. But those were so few, I longed for more!

Unknowingly, my younger sister Zola, an accomplished half-marathoner, registered me in an 8-K fun run early this year. She surprised me few days before the run, January 26th. I was bound to a four-day event, 7th Asia-Pacific Conference for Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights, held on January 21-24, 2014, at Philippine International Convention Center.

I felt so fulfilled having my dream answered, to volunteer in whatever program or outreach with a good cause on my birthday. Instead of paying P 14,000 in an international conference I was invited to take part, I was accepted as a volunteer. So, it was like hitting two birds in one stone!

Tired but happy serving as one of the registrars for the registration. I encountered roughly 1,000 people, delegates and participants from countries all over Asia-Pacific Region and beyond.

Tired but happy serving as one of the registrars for the registration. I met roughly 1,000 people, delegates and participants from countries all over Asia-Pacific region and beyond. (There’s a blog post about the 7th APCSRHR)

Though tired for the four-day event, spent on travels (I commuted twice going back and forth Silang, Cavite-Pasay City) and various services done in the conference (usherette, monitor for satellite presentations, assistant to the speaker, assisted a reporter during a coverage), I was excited to run!

I also lacked sleep and having no enough vim. But my delight, being given such unexpected gift, surpassed my body’s condition.

Unexpected! sandwiched by too 'beauty and brains', Ms. Monique Wilson, the world-renown Broadway artist, and Ms. Myrel de Castro, one of the organizers.

Unexpected! Sandwiched by too ‘beauty and brains’, Ms. Monique Wilson, the world-renown Broadway artist, and Ms. Myrel de Castro, one of the organizers.

Run for Your Life, Run!

Imagine yourself being one of a thousand runners, or more than that, having one aim: to reach the finish line, in the shortest time possible. It’s like the battle of the fittest, and the race of the fastest.

Meanwhile in a fun run, you have all the time, no pressure (unless you wanna beat your time limit). As long as you finish the race, you’re a winner.

Having that in mind, I just wanted to enjoy and have fun! It’s a bonding with my sister and my friends. After all, it’s just 8 kilometers!

One of my favorite movies, Forrest Gump flashed back, when Forrest started to run for years, only to find out he has no specific reasons why did he run.

Epiphanies on Track

While on track, I was talking to Therese, a dear friend. Since my sister Zola was fast, we’re left. Instead of focusing, we talked, and talked; we even stopped once in awhile.

But I was aware, while running, I thought of the three P’s to keep in mind:

  • Pacing – it should be constant, once you stop, you’ll have a hard time starting again. Avoid distractions, or else, plan destruction follows.
  • Patience – the vital key, not only during training (for a race, pro run), but while on track.
  • Perseverance – keep your mind to your goal — reach the finish line.

These are actually not new. But these three P’s are running after me, again and again. It followed me as far as Oriental Mindoro, my province. Well, sometimes, you ought to do crazy and corny stuff to keep your sanity!

Coming here in our province made me realize that I needed to slow down, find solitude, and sulk (healthy sulking), if needed. I’ve been in a rat-race and have always been anxious to finish an ample amount of to-do-list, while my body silently scream for proper and longer rest.

This also help me evaluate my efforts in the past few weeks. What I’ve been too absorbed with, what I was eager to accomplish. I’ve got many appointments, here and there. Some friendly requests, volunteer writing projects and extra writing job. Well, I had sense of fulfillment and fun (especially volunteer blogging/writing), I also had some regrets. I thought of this, having the musings, “there’s power in second thought”, and “it’s ok to say NO!”. After all, I’m no Wonder Woman!

Feasting on these books helped me a lot! I should have spent more time feeding on His Word.

Feasting on these books helped me a lot! I should have spent more time feeding on His Word.

Taking the risks worth taking is worth it!

Taking the risks worth taking, is worth it!

With regards to spiritual race, I was reminded of 1 Corinthians 9:24-27:

The Need for Self-Discipline

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 

26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 

27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

Grateful for the grace, I finished the fun run with a flash! haha! (my thigh started to ache, I looked like leaning to Errand).

Grateful for the grace, I finished the fun run with a flash! haha! (my thigh started to ache, I looked like leaning to Errand).

extended birthday celebration with Therese and Zola

extended birthday celebration with Therese and Zola

“We are able to persevere only because God works within us, within our free wills. And because God is at work in us, we are certain to persevere. The decrees of God concerning election are immutable. They do not change, because He does not change. All whom He justifies He glorifies. None of the elect has ever been lost.” ~R.C Sproul

"Trustful dependence on Jesus makes victory not only possible, but certain." ~ Signs of the Times, Jan. 3, 1906

“Trustful dependence on Jesus makes victory not only possible, but certain.” ~ Signs of the Times, Jan. 3, 1906

I’ve always wanted to be back on track, to be consistent in running; joining fun run and pro run.

But more to that, I’ve always wanted to just be on the TRACK OF LIFE. Through God’s grace, I wanna have the CROWN OF LIFE, waiting for me at the finish line.

© 2014 LAF

Note: Photos credit to Errand (fun run), and Google Image. Video credit to You Tube. This blog has a copyright . The photos and articles should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bespectacled Books, Exciting Event, Friendship, Heath & Healing, Life story, Object Lessons

Leave a Reply

