Charm and Chivalry


"HE MUST INCREASE, I MUST DECREASE" "It is a tremendous freedom to get rid of all self-consideration and learn to care about only one thing - the relationship between Christ and ourselves." - Leslie Ludy, Captivating Selflessness ♥ on the way to Taal Volcano's zenith, February 14, 2010

“HE MUST INCREASE, I MUST DECREASE” “It is a tremendous freedom to get rid of all self-consideration and learn to care about only one thing – the relationship between Christ and ourselves.” – Leslie Ludy, Captivating Selflessness ♥ on the way to Taal Volcano’s zenith, February 14, 2010

“30 Poems in 30 Days Challenge” is simply nostalgic!

There were days during my early teens when I let go of the streams of soliloquy, scribbled in any paper I could avail — stationary, scrap paper, and even crumpled ones . For me, writing has been a therapeutic craft since then.

For many, my poetic gift is remarkable. I’ve jotted a lot. Some were published, some were not. Reading them led me back down memory lane.

 

30/30  Charm

On April 1, 2014, one of my super friends got married. It wasn’t a prank though they chose the April Fools Day to mark their vows. With wedding syndrome (I’ve been a wedding person since I was first invited to take part ages ago), I was requested to sing five songs (of which two were duet renditions).

Then I wondered when my grand day would be. I don’t want it to fall on another April Fools Day, I had enough treachery from the past encounters haha! What astonished me the most was the discovery of the Taal Volcano’s real crater! What I’m pointing in the photo is the FAKE one! And oh, for more than a quarter century, I believed that this is the REAL one!

So to start with this challenge (will post two more later to fill the first two days I missed), here’s the entry:  “write a charm – a simple rhyming poem, in the style of a recipe-slash-nursery rhyme.”

Chivalry’s Charm

To Thine true and divine love,

She anchors, she longs.

Wonder of wonders

She waits to whom she belongs.

The clock’s hands wave hello so fast.

Until now,

She doesn’t know whom her heart to entrust.

Old fashioned, she values chastity,

Much more, she upholds compassion and charity.

Opted to be won, than have woes of wooing,

She patiently wait the full bloom of her calling.

Exceptional and queer,

Some men of valor

Compromise in masquerade

Lose their great ardor.

Give the men the honor to pursue,

Chivalry ought to embrace our world

Not yet obsolete,

men should be of one accord.

~Curly Wordsmith/Curly Bookworm

© 2014 LAF

Note: Photo credits to RJ Becbec. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Friendship, Life story, Love, NaPoWriMo 2014

Leave a Reply

