Triumphant at Three!


Thrilled to post again after three months of blog sulking, I was surprised to receive a notification few minutes ago! It’s my blog’s 3rd Anniversary! Actually, my first blog post was on August 9. So, I badly missed it!

Happy Anniversary! August 15, 2014 gleeful greetings from WP

Happy Anniversary!
August 15, 2014
gleeful greetings from WP

I’ve got my favorite devotional from my bookshelf earlier, only to realize that it’s what I’ve featured more than three years ago. *click the title, Terse Soliloquy to read my first blog post ever!

To read last year’s anniversary feature, read Transformed at Two!

 

More Than a Conqueror

The Vespers worship at Philippine International Church was graced with the Communion, or the Last Supper. The Week of Prayer is dubbed “More than Conquerors”. A student speaker delivered an inspiring the message. Sis. Jenny, a Dentistry student (Malaysian), emphasized about moral integrity, and how we could keep the purity thru God’s grace.

“Will there be a Mary among us who could bear Jesus?” was her query to the ladies.

“If you have been courting, or you have a girlfriend, what is your intention? Is her integrity and purity your priority?” she asked the gentlemen, as he emphasized Joseph’s characteristics.

2 Tim. 2:22 has been more personal to me, as I listen to Paul’s admonition to Timothy to:

  • Flee from youthful passions
  • Pursue righteousness, faith, love & peace
  • Have a pure heart

While contemplating on these as we’re about to begin foot washing, I wondered who would be my partner, I came late, and sat on the left wing (quite so behind), most of my friends used to sit at the right wing, front pews (where I used to sit too). People rushed out to get small basins of water and small towel, and to my surprise, Jenny Amurao approached me.

I was so delighted to see my former AUP Academy student, beaming with her lovely smile. She didn’t have a partner, and I’m grateful she came, she’s an answered prayer. “Ma’am Fronda, may partner ka na po?” she asked. I was quite hesitant at first, I was not ready for communion, but I wanted to have it. But it’s been a humbling experience to have her as a partner for the foot washing. It’s simply unforgettable! Jenny has grown a lot; graceful & lovely lady, a gifted singer.

When the emblems were distributed, I saw Klyde Carpizo, another former student (Jenny’s batch mate). He’s a deacon since last year, but I didn’t know that until his mom told me after worship. I even asked his dad, another deacon to confirm, “Is that your son Klyde, Sir?”, when he was giving the grape juice and the unleavened bread.

Life is indeed full of surprises! Last night was a blast of blessings! I also met & greeted Keanu Lee, Chill Orbe, saw Yesha Ilagan (Jenny’s batch mates). Two JENNYs made an impact in my life. I was tremendously inspired as I contemplate on God’s unfathomable love and unlimited grace. I’ll be more than a conqueror, coz Jesus has conquered the Arch Enemy even before I was conceived.

III-Gemini

As you can see my students' artwork, the first picture at the pink corner was Jenny's. She's the homeroom leader. :) They gave me this memento with their appreciation.

As you can see my students’ artwork, the first picture at the pink corner was Jenny’s. She’s the homeroom leader.🙂
They gave me this memento with their appreciation.

They surprised me! They're dearly beloved and loved!

They surprised me! They’re dearly beloved and loved!


“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?

As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:35-39, NIV (my favorite verses)🙂

In Remembrance of Me

Full-packed PIC during communion service.

Full-packed PIC during communion service.

These are the quotations from Ellen G. White (The Desire of Ages pages 656-659) which the Senior Pastor read during the Communion. It challenged me more:

“None should exclude themselves from the Communion because some who are unworthy may be present. Every disciple is called upon to participate publicly, and thus bear witness that he accepts Christ as a personal Saviour. It is at these, His own appointments, that Christ meets His people, and energizes them by His presence. Hearts and hands that are unworthy may even administer the ordinance, yet Christ is there to minister to His children. All who come with their faith fixed upon Him will be greatly blessed. All who neglect these seasons of divine privilege will suffer loss. Of them it may appropriately be said, “Ye are not all clean.”

Our Lord says, Under conviction of sin, remember that I died for you. When oppressed and persecuted and afflicted for My sake and the gospel’s, remember My love, so great that for you I gave My life. When your duties appear stern and severe, and your burdens too heavy to bear, remember that for your sake I endured the cross, despising the shame. When your heart shrinks from the trying ordeal, remember that your Redeemer liveth to make intercession for you.

The Communion service points to Christ’s second coming. It was designed to keep this hope vivid in the minds of the disciples. Whenever they met together to commemorate His death, they recounted how “He took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, Drink ye all of it; for this is My blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins. But I say unto you, I will not drink henceforth of this fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in My Father’s kingdom.” In their tribulation they found comfort in the hope of their Lord’s return. Unspeakably precious to them was the thought, “As often as ye eat this bread, and drink this cup, ye do show the Lord’s death till He come.” 1 Cor. 11:26.”

Streams of teaching memories flooded, as I left the portals of AUP last night. I’m beyond grateful! My cup overflows! It really matters a lot to sit at the feet of Jesus, the Master Teacher!

“He who co-operates with the divine purpose in imparting to the youth a knowledge of God, and molding the character into harmony with His, does a high and noble work.” EGW, Education

I missed my former students big time, and as well as teaching! But definitely, I missed blogging so much!

I’m definitely triumphant at three!🙂

© 2014 LAF

Leave a comment

Filed under Exciting Event, Friendship, Life story, Ministry, Teaching Adventures, Vicissitudes

Leave a Reply

