Off the Shelf


Off the Shelf

“Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?”

***

Well, though I’m in a hurry this time to post my daily musing, I’ll take time to answer this question from the daily post.

I have enormous books in the shelf which I wanna reread! Mitch Albom’s books are on the top list.

  • The First Phone Call from Heaven
  • Tuesdays with Morrie
  • For One More Day
  • The Five People You Meet in Heaven (I don’t have my copy, from a friend’s shelf)

CBtoastbox

“Helping the Yolanda victims is answering a phone call from heaven.” ~ Mitch Albom

Caught in the Act, taken at the Toastbox in Solenad 2, Nuvali just last week. Rereading, actually :)

Caught in the Act, taken at the Toastbox in Solenad 2, Nuvali just last week. Rereading, actually🙂

Obviously, Mitch Albom’s recent book has been my top favorite among his master pieces! I also love Tuesdays with Morrie big time! There’s a greater reason behind why I love it the most, not to mention, it’s simply profound!

Love at first sight, to exaggerate!

Love at first sight, to exaggerate!

Mitch Albom visited our country, not only to give huge amount of money for the Yolanda victims through National Bookstore Foundation and Yellow Boat of Hope Foundation, but also to promote his new book earlier this year. I have a lot of friends in YBH, including the co-founder, Dr. Anton Lim. So, I was more than grateful for his generosity and support to our kababayans — emitting compassion is his own unique way.

So when I visited National Bookstore on April 18, 2014, my heart skipped a beat. I actually posted the photo in my Facebook timeline with a caption:I left my heart at the bookstore. Will return to take it back.” But I wasn’t able to return to buy due to busyness and yeah, I was broke!

Gratefully, I didn’t! 12 days after, I received a copy of my own, sent thru a courier, LBC! Surprise of all surprises!

Ms Apple

Beware of what you wish for!


DAY 59 (100 Happy Days entry, April 30th)

Best Surprise ever!

“Be aware & beware of what you wish for.” ~Curly Bookworm

Seemed it’s Christmas or my birthday!

I received a package from Ms. Apple, just to find out that she saw my post re Mitch Albom’s latest book many days ago. There’s no occasion, and that made it more amazing!

“Helping Yolanda victims is like answering a phone call from heaven”. ~ Albom

Ms. Apple is indeed gifted with generosity & thoughtfulness. Through #amBAG campaign, we were able to get connected and built friendship! I’m so blessed sharing the joy of helping others with her. And our talk over the phone was also surprising!

Ms. Apple, thanks a lot once again for the precious time, 1:01:04! Never thought we already consumed more than an hour! Humbling experience it was!

God bless your heart more!

P.S.
Thanks for the special delivery of my heart which I left in the bookstore, through this book!

***

I’m humbled, blessed and really felt special coz Ms. Apple and I haven’t met personally, and yet with our communications, it seemed we’ve known each other for a long time!

Her response: I am honored to fulfill one of your wishes, it may not be an expensive one, but knowing that it made you happy, it has made me happier. May you continue to inspire your readers as you have inspired me. May God continuously bless you and your family, so you can continuously bless others too…hugs and kisses.”

Special Place in My Heart

Two things usually happen to my favorite books; either I’ll read it hastily and wouldn’t stop until I finish it, or read it slowly, as if thoroughly masticating a sumptuous meal. I did the same thing to Mitch Albom’s books. Yet, The Phone Call from Heaven has a significant meaning, since I lost loved ones. Though I have a different view/belief on the state of the dead, I somehow appreciate this kind of literature!

DAY 61 (100 Happy Days entry, May 2nd)

The most inspiring remembrance my late ate Leah left, her hand-made, pressed flowers bookmark done 12 years ago.

"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me". ~ Philippians 4:13

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. ~ Philippians 4:13

My sole companion at the NAIA International Airport, Philippine Airlines, bound to Laguindingan Airport, on May 16th. I realized that I wore the same dress then in my recent photos taken at Toast Box! :)

My sole companion at the NAIA International Airport, Philippine Airlines, bound to Laguindingan Airport, on May 16th. I realized that I wore the same dress then in my recent photos taken at Toast Box! The best way to kill time is reading a fabulous book!🙂

More of my favorite books which I hope to reread. So inspiring and very moving!

More of my favorite books which I hope to reread. So inspiring and very moving!

One at a Time

I love to juggle work, and I apply the same multitasking in reading books. I sometimes read three books simultaneously in a week. One in the morning, another one during vacant periods, and the last one at night, without messing up with info and details. I love doing that! But it’s still best to read and enjoy a book, one at a time.

As much as I love to share what I’ve read, and discuss what I love about the dozens of books I actually wanna reread, let me invite you to subscribe, or follow my blog so you can be updated. This main blog is actually intended for book reviews, musings and articles about books and my bookworm adventures. I will restart writing reviews in my website, under renovation: lailaniefronda.weebly.com

Keep posted! Please feel free to suggest books that meant a lot to you, books that are exceptionally invigorating. Feel free to share this blog post to your friends too!🙂

"Life has to end," she said. "Love doesn't."

“Life has to end,” she said. “Love doesn’t.”

© 2014 LAF

Note: Photos credit to Apple M. (photos at Toastbox) and Shielah Fern M. (photo at the bottom).  The rest are taken by the author. This blog has a copyright . The photos and article should not be used, reproduced and manipulated by any means without a written request and consent from the author.

3 Comments

Filed under Bespectacled Books, Friendship, Health & Healing, Life story, Object Lessons, Superb Authors, Travel & Adventure

3 responses to “Off the Shelf

  1. This is a nice collection ate Lai! I love Tuesdays with Morrie. I had it for a gift, and kind of lost it so I’m still trying to look for it now. haha I downloaded the PDF files for now.
    I missed you, I had to check your blog again!🙂 By the way, I made up a new blog at tandemd.wordpress.com
    I hope you follow us there. Made a facebook page for it too at http://www.facebook.com/lovetandemd
    It’s a blog Jerald and I have dedicated to the Lord. If you have prayer requests, you can send it to us at our blog’s Faith–> Prayer Garden section. Hope to hear from you soon!

    Lovelots,
    Ardys

    • It’s too late to notice that my reply to this that same time, 5 months ago wasn’t published here, huhu! I’m glad that you’ve got a collaborative blog and your blog’s name fits you well. What a great tandem of MDs!😀 You might wanna join my bookworm challenge🙂

      • I just noticed this today ate Lai! We’re on duty everyday so I haven’t had the time to write or post anything on our blogs but I hope to post again soon when I rotate in a not so busy department🙂 Miss you! God bless!

Leave a Reply

